Coalition to Save PS 109
152 East 100th Street, Suite 5E
New York, NY 10029
Phone: 212-534-0963

April 7, 2005

Chancellor Joel Klein
New York City Department of Education
52 Chambers Street
New York, NY 10007

Re: Support entry of P.S.109 (Community Education Council Dist. #4) into Capital Budget

Dear Chancellor Klein

The Community Education Council for District #4 requested in its January 25, 2005, letter addressed to Mr. William Goldstein, CEO of the New York City School Construction Authority, that the restoration of P.S. 109 be included in the 2005-2009 Capital Budget Plan.

Our Coalition hereby conveys our full support for this request.

In 1999, The Coalition to Save PS 109 spearheaded the campaign to stop the illegal demolition of this historic school building and precious architectural jewel located on 99th Street in East Harlem.

Our coalition successfully lobbied the New York City Landmarks Conservancy, which in turn contracted one of the finest structural engineers in the world, Robert Silman.

After a thorough on-site examination of the building, Mr. Silman concluded that PS 109 is structurally sound and can be restored at nominal cost. I have provided a copy of his report in this package. In addition, I shall furnish you with a tentative estimate of the cost for restoration done by coalition member and preservation architect Raymond Plumey. Plumey was responsible for the beautiful restoration of the of the former PS 72, now the Julia De Burgos Cultural Center located at 106 St. and Lexington Avenue.

Although P.S. 109 now enjoys landmark status and the protections of being on the National and New York State Registers of Historic Places, P.S. 109 still today stands empty as the community waits for its restoration and the extra space which it will provide.

Including P.S. 109 in the Capital Budget Plan would assure the community of a real commitment to Mayor Bloomberg's Child First Reform, aimed at reducing classroom size.

Thank you for your kind consideration


For the Coalition to Save P.S. 109

  • Michael R. Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York
  • Rep. Charles Rangel
  • Johnny Rivera Community Education Council District # 4
  • State Senator Jose Serrano
  • Assemblymember Adam Clayton Powell IV
  • Former State Senator Olga Mendez
  • William Goldstein, President and CEO of NYC School Construction Authority
  • Peg Breen, New York City Landmarks Conservancy
  • U.S. Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton
  • Reverend Leroy Ricksy
  • Reverend Norman Eddey
  • Robert Silman, PC
  • Terri Slater
  • The Historic District Council
  • Laura Shapiro Kramer
  • Councilman Phil Reed
  • Community Board 11
  • New York State Department of Parks and Recreation Historic Preservation Office Ms. Kathleen Howe/ Julian Adams
  • Governor George Pataki
  • Bobby and Denise Butts